The Slovak Republic in Brief

The Slovak Republic is a democratic country, stable in political, economic and social terms, situated in Central Europe. With its area 49 034 km2 and 5.4 million of population, it belongs to middle-sized European countries. It is rich in natural beauties and cultural monuments, some of which are included in the list of world cultural heritage UNESCO (e.g. the Historical Tower in Banská Štiavnica, Bardejovská veža, Spišský hrad, Vlkolínec etc.).This is also one of the reasons why Slovakia is a sought-after touristic destination.
Capital city:
Administrative division:
8 regions
Euro (EUR) = 100 cents
State form:
President of the republic:
Ivan Gašparovič
The Slovak Republic is a member of NATO since March 2004 and a member of the European Union since May 2004. In addition, it is a member of a lot of international organisations, such as CERN, IBRD, OECD, UN, WHO, UNESCO, OBSE, INTERPOL.
Practical information
Time zone
CET (GMT + 1h) or
Central European Summer Time (GMT + 2h)
Telephone prefix:
Internet domain:
Mobile phone operators:
T-Mobile Slovensko a.s.,
Telefonica O2 Slovensko s. r. o.
Orange Slovensko a.s.
For more information about Slovakia visit
Slovak Republic Macroekonomic Indicators
see enlarged table
see enlarged table